Happy birthday dear blog

I can’t believe it’s been a year since I started this blog. I can’t believe it’s been over a year since I left uni. I really can’t believe how fast it’s gone and much fun I’ve crammed in. But anyway no first birthday celebration would be complete without one key ingredient – CAKE!

there is no cake

Recently the CR blog asked designers, “do you blog and why?”. I think I began this blog in order to promote myself to potential employees in a different and more adaptable way than my portfolio site. I also was determined that I would actually write interesting and informative posts, not just endless lists and links to other people’s work, which seems to be the staple diet of many designer’s blogs.

As time’s gone on I’ve found that blogging is sort of addictive. I felt a strange sense of duty to keep updating my blog and coming up with interesting and worthy topics to write about. The simple analytics that WordPress provides also gives me a rough indication of how many people are reading my blog and where they are coming from.

stats counter

That being all well and good, I’ve now that achieved the primary reason I started this blogging thing (got me a job), so maybe it’s time to shut it down and move on. I’m finding it increasingly difficult to think up stuff to write and to find the time to write it in. Sometimes it’s easy, sometimes it really doesn’t work out at all well…

But like I said, it’s addictive, and I do enjoy writing. Whether or not other people enjoy reading it I really don’t know, but the more I involve myself in the internet, the more I love it, and if people can use blogs to post stupid pictures of their cats, or to document their emigration to India, I can flipping well use it to unleash my whinging and practice my spiel.

So keep watching this space because hedoesdesign ain’t going anywhere just yet.

“Happy Birthday to me, happy birthday to me” etc.

1 Response to “Happy birthday dear blog”


  1. 1 Daniel February 27, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    Happy bird day.

    When I read your blog name I often misread it as Hedgehog Design.


Leave a Reply

HedoesFlickr

HedoesTwitter

  • RT @samjohnbeck: iOS 11 is a mix of thick and thin glyphs. I made this uniform set for MacStories which was inspired by the Apple Music app… 1 day ago
  • Thanks to @BegumNadiya and her new cooking show we've been forced into making 9pm cheese on toast snacks! 1 week ago

